Skip to main content

Faculty & Staff Directory

Faculty

Barry Bickmore

Professor
S321 ESC
(801) 422-4680
barry_bickmore@byu.edu

Brooks Britt

Department Chair
Associate Professor
S389B ESC
(801) 422-7316
brooks_britt@byu.edu

Greg Carling

Associate Professor
S325 ESC
(801) 422-2622
greg.carling@byu.edu

Ron Harris

Professor
Geology Club Faculty Advisor
S341 ESC
rharris@byu.edu

Sam Hudson

Associate Professor
AAPG Student Chapter
Faculty Advisor
S337 ESC
(801) 422-4657
sam.hudson@byu.edu

Bill Keach

Adjunct Professor
(801) 422-2961
bill_keach@byu.edu

Josh LeMonte

Assistant Professor
S341 ESC
(801) 422-7037
lemonte@byu.edu

John McBride

Associate Chair
Professor
Graduate Coordinator
S387 ESC
(801) 422-5219
john_mcbride@byu.edu

Steve Nelson

Professor
S336 ESC
(801) 422-8688
oxygen.isotope@gmail.com

Jani Radebaugh

Professor
Undergraduate Coordinator
S383 ESC
(801) 422-9127
jani_radebaugh@byu.edu

Kevin Rey

Assistant Research Professor
S329 ESC
(801) 422-5261
kd7kmp@gmail.com

Scott Ritter

Professor
S371 ESC
C193 ESC
(801) 422-4239 / (801) 422-9260
scott_ritter@byu.edu

Keryn Ross

Adjunct Professor
S335 ESC
volcano@gmail.com

Randy M. Skinner

Professor
S375 ESC
(801) 422-6083
randy_skinner@byu.edu

Staff

Kevin Johnson

Communications & Media Manager
S385
kevin_johnson@byu.edu

Rod Scheetz

Museum of Paleontology, Curator
140 MP
(801) 422-3940
rod_scheetz@byu.edu

Eric Tingey

Computer Systems Administrator
S385 ESC
Office: (801) 422-2340
Text: (385) 422-1909
eric.tingey@byu.edu

Karla Ward

Business Manager/Travel Coordinator
Office and Program Manager
S389 C ESC
(801) 422-3919
geologyadmin@byu.edu

Previous Faculty Members

James L. Baer

Taught from 1969-2001

Alvin K. Benson

Taught from 1986-2001

Myron G. Best

Taught from 1965-1998

Harold J. Bissell

Taught from 1938-1956

Willis H. Brimhall

Taught from 1955-1990

Kenneth C. Bullock

Taught from 1943-1983

Jess R. Bushman

Taught from 1955-1986

Fred E. Buss

Taught from 1920-1925

Eric H. Christiansen

Taught from 1987-2020

David L. Clark

Taught from 1959-1963

W. Elmo Coffman

Taught from 1930-1945

Arthur L. Crawford

Taught from 1926-1927

P. Eldon Dennis

Taught from 1935-1939

Michael J. Dorais

Taught from 2000-2021

Dana Griffen

Taught from 1979-1980

W. Ken Hamblin

Taught from 1963-1993

George H. Hansen

Taught from 1927-1954

Murray O. Hayes

Taught from 1922-1928

Josiah E. Hickman

Taught from 1905-1906

Bryant S. Hinckley

Taught from 1892-1895

Edwin S. Hinckley

Taught from 1895-1915

Lehi F. Hintze

Taught from 1955-1986

William H. Horner

Taught from 1906-1907

Edmund P. Hyatt

Taught from 1950-1956

Emil B. Isgreen

Taught from 1890-1892

Charles E. Jacob

Taught from 1953-1955

Clarence S. Jarvis

Taught from 1907-1909

Joseph B. Keeler

Taught from 1888-1890

Jeffrey D. Keith

Taught from 1990-1991

Bart J. Kowallis

Taught from 1982-1983

R. Celdon Lewis

Taught from 1953-1957

Matthew A. Mabey

Taught from 1996-2003

Karl G. Maeser

Taught from 1879-1880

Alan L. Mayo

Taught from 1987-1988

Wade E. Miller

Taught from 1971-2002

Thomas H. Morris

Taught from 1990-2018

Paul R. Nixon

Taught in 1989

Morris S. Peterson

Taught from 1966-1998

W. Revell Phillips

Taught from 1957-1994

Paul Dean Proctor

Taught from 1947-1953; 1983-1999

J. Keith Rigby

Taught from 1953-1991

Summer Rupper

Taught from 2007-2015

James E. Talmage

Taught from 1880-1888

Caleb Tanner

Taught from 1901-1904

Dave Tingey

Taught from 1986 to 2022

Chester Van Buren

Taught from 1907-1908

Mont M. Warner

Taught from 1959-1969

John A. Watts

Taught from 1925-1926