

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Lyn George, Rocky Mountain Section AAPG Phone: 307-265-6338 Email: lgeorge@tribcsp.com

## **Rocky Mountain Section of AAPG Announces Presentation Awards**

Casper, WY -- The Rocky Mountain Section of AAPG is pleased to announce the winners of its Presentation Awards for the section's 2019 Annual Conference which was held in Cheyenne, Wyoming.

The Presentation Awards are given to those who present the best technical papers at the annual meeting. Authors gave over one-hundred-twenty-five oral and poster presentations on the geology of the Rocky Mountain region at the Cheyenne meeting. Judging on technical merit and presentation determined the winners.

Jeffrey W. Bader won the A.I. Levorsen Award for the best oral presentation with his paper titled, "Structural Inheritance and the Role of Basement Anisotropies in the Laramide Structural and Tectonic Evolution of the North American Cordilleran Foreland, Wyoming: Towards a Unified Hypothesis." This award is given by the American Association of Petroleum Geologists and emphasizes creative thinking toward new ideas in exploration. Bader is a geologist with the North Dakota Geological Survey and is Director of the Wilson M. Laird Core and Sample Library in Grand Forks.

Chris Perfili won the Runge Award for the best student presentation with his paper titled, "Sedimentology and Reservoir Potential of Allochthonous Upper Desert Creek Carbonates, Southern Margin of the Aneth Complex (Middle Pennsylvanian), Paradox Basin, Utah". His co-authors for the paper include Scott Ritter and Bob Lindsay with Brigham Young University and Peter Neilsen with the Utah Geological Survey. Perfili is a student at Brigham Young University and plans to graduate in December 2020. The Runge Award is sponsored by the Wyoming Geological Association in memory of John S. Runge. It was established in 1975 and recognizes professional and scientific excellence in student papers.

Brian Toelle won the Steve Champlin Memorial Award for the best poster presentation with his presentation titled, "Potential Shale-Oil Reservoirs in the Eastern Bighorn Basin, Wyoming." Co-authors of the paper include Marcin Pankau, Ranie Lynds and Pejman Tahmnasebi. Toelle is Professor of Practice at the University of Wyoming, Department of Petroleum Engineering. The Steve Champlin award was created in 1986 by the Wyoming Geological Association to encourage excellence in poster presentations, oneon-one discussions of geology and friendly cooperation for the exploration of natural resources.

The awards will be presented at the AAPG Rocky Mountain Section 2020 meeting in Grand Junction, Colorado. The meeting, "20/20 Vision – Turn Hindsight to Foresight," will be held September 13 -16, 2020 in the Two Rivers Convention Center and is cohosted by the Grand Junction Geological Society and the Four Corners Geological Society.

## Contact

To learn more about these awards, please contact Lyn George Past-President, Rocky Mountain Section of AAPG 777 Overland Trail, Ste. 107 Casper, WY 82601 307-265-6338 Igeorge@tribcsp.com